RSS

App app hooray…

13 Jan

You shouldn’t need me to tell you by now that I do all this nonsense on my phone (and now my lovely new tablet) because I’m stubborn and I like the challenge.
This has never really been a problem for me, as the nice people at WordPress who host my blog have a very stable and user-friendly Android app that allows me to post pretty much what I like, without any glitches or crashing issues.

However, the same cannot be said for the Blogger platform.

Ever since I’ve been writing guest spots for the esteemed Mr Harvath, over at Ramblings of a semi-mad man, and Lanthie at Life Cherries, I have had to wrestle with Blogger’s incredibly fiddly desktop dashboard, squished down to the size of my four inch phone screen, something that has caused me no end of problems.

Even in tablet form, the site’s lack of any sort of convenient mobile format has resulted in me spending literally hours meticulously constructing blogs, only to have the bloody photos rearrange themselves of their own accord, links vanish into thin air, fonts magically freeze in the italic mode, or suddenly find that I’m writing in bold text for no fucking reason whatsoever. 

image

I suppose you would be perfectly within your rights to say “Get with the programme Dale, write your blog on a sodding computer like everybody else you pillock”, which while being slightly impertinent, would be perfectly reasonable to a certain extent.

But why should I have to?
I hardly think it’s a surprise that everyone is mobile these days is it?

We all have mobile phones, i-pads, i-pods, tablets and Kindles, so you’d think that the über-geeks and boffins responsible for developing the software and apps for all these small objects of desire would make sure that they actually did what the bloody things were supposed to do before they went on the market.

But no, despite the fact that the producers of these all-singing, all-dancing marvels of technological excellence cheerfully claim that they’ll enable you to compose the next number one hit single, best-selling novel or award-winning screenplay, whilst they simultaneously mow the lawn, make the tea, wash the dog and cook your dinner, half the time you’ll have enough trouble just installing the useless sodding thing without your phone crashing, your blog disappearing into the ether, or your tablet deciding it’s going to take up speaking Arabic all of a sudden.

In the last two days I have installed (and then unceremoniously dumped) no less than five, yes FIVE, allegedly fabulous apps that are supposedly ideal for the on-the-go Blogger user.
They claim to include all sorts of time saving gadgets, high-tech features and unique selling points, when in fact what most of them boast is an endless supply of malicious ad-ware, viruses and other internet gremlins, meaning that they either simply don’t do the job for which they are designed, or worse, they disable the virtual brain of your device to such an extent that it needs the equivalent of an electronic enema to clear out all the crap that’s been imported into it’s poor defenceless little silicon synapses.

The worse thing about all of this, is that every single one of these so-called helpful pieces of software has come from the official Google Play app store. 
I mean, doesn’t anyone check these things out before allowing them to be offered for installation by the thousands of people who use Android devices? 
You’d think it was in their interest to make certain the widgets and gizmos associated with their own site didn’t bugger up the very hardware they’re trying to sell you, wouldn’t you?
Otherwise, why bother posting all the warning notices about only downloading apps from “recognised sources”?

Maybe their philosophy is; “If anyone’s going to fuck with our hardware, we only want to use authorised rip-off merchants to do it”
Now though, I think I might have actually cracked it.

After battling with the seemingly stable and well behaved fourth variation of blogging application until nearly three yesterday morning, carefully putting together a photo compilation for Lanthie’s blog, I got up, anticipating a trouble-free half hour of easy uploading before I could see the fruits of my labour online.
How stupid of me to be that optimistic.“Upload failed” blinked smugly at me from the screen after ten minutes of vaguely promising, pulsing status bar.

Oh bollocks.

Five seems to be the charm though, as barely fifteen minutes later I found this app (for any of you experiencing similar frustration) which miracle of miracles, does almost exactly what it claims to do in the blurb.

Five minutes after that, Lanthie had her post, steam stopped coming out of my ears and my tablet was no longer in danger of being bounced round the room.
As if that wasn’t enough, I also discovered a special mobile device registration code, enabling me the use of Google Chrome to operate the Blogger desktop dashboard without it resulting in me wanting to bang my head on the wall.

Isn’t technology wonderful?

Sometimes.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “App app hooray…

  1. Ron

    January 13, 2014 at 22:01

    “But why should I have to?
    I hardly think it’s a surprise that everyone is mobile these days is it?”

    I know so many people who do as you, Dale…they do everything through their mobile device (phone, tablets, Kindles), which I think is amazing.

    I think I’m probably the ONLY person on this planet who doesn’t have a cell phone or tablet or any mobile device for that matter. About as mobile as I get is when I use my laptop (which is hardly ever) and use a wireless connection in say, Starbucks.

    I do a lot of photo editing and dabble in graphic design, so for me, I prefer to sit at my desktop (which has a HUGE monitor) and work. My eyes don’t see as well on a smaller screen.

     
    • dalecooper57

      January 13, 2014 at 22:10

      Having just got my first pair of reading glasses a couple of months ago, my tablet is a vast improvement on my phone screen. As I’m hooked on the Android system, I’m happy enough without an actual computer. After all, I can do everything I need to without one, so why bother?

       
  2. jerseylil

    January 16, 2014 at 07:45

    Dale, I know what you mean about Blogger! I’m on Blogger and am seriously considering switching my blog to WordPress. Drives me batty when pictures or links I post on my blog rearrange themselves or vanish. It has happened so many times and here I thought it was just me. Glad to know now it wasn’t just my lack of savvy on blogging platforms!

     
    • dalecooper57

      January 16, 2014 at 08:07

      Yeah, can’t get on with it at all. Lost at least two whole posts for Lanthie that I had to completely rewrite.

       

Leave a comment

 
pictures imperfect blog

imperfect pictures

The Cosmic Photo Challenge

Weekly Inspirations For Creative Imaginations

Running with the Pack

An American Gypsy

Chet Desmond Has Vanished

But Where Did He Go?

48 before its too late

48 states in an RV in 6 months.

AesthesiaMag

French magazine - art & visual culture

cmsaunders

The online presence of dark fiction writer C.M. Saunders

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

JOHNNY SPANGLES - THE TIGHTFIST TRAVELLER

Budget Travel Guides for Misers, Cheapskates and Pennypinchers at www.johnnyspangles.com

The Lessons

that time forgot to teach

SOZ SATIRE

The Best of British Bullshit

Homeschool To UnSchool

Teaching Our Kids to Wonder Again

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

Isabella Morgan

Opinions not otherwise specified

Rereading Jane Eyre

Author Luccia Gray

Pages That Rustle

The journey from words to stories.

trickyemotions

For your mind only!

Waruni Anuruddhika

Film and photography

An Artist’s Path

Art, Poetry, Prose, Spirituality & Whimsy

Edge of Humanity Magazine

An Independent Nondiscriminatory Platform With No Religious, Political, Financial, or Social Affiliations - FOUNDED 2014

Tyler Charles Austen

Foul mouthed, Queer and Angry

balloonfacetrace

The facepainting and balloon twisting lady

Kristin King Author

True Story...

the paper kind

creative living

thegirlwhofearoblivion

To Share, To Connect, To Create, To Inspire.

unbolt me

the literary asylum

swo8

Music means something and art is right up there too

Broken Castles

Shattered long ago...

Joshi Daniel Photography

Photoblog of Joshi Daniel

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

The Write Project

"The answer is to write." - Richard Rhodes

b e t u n a d a

I'm interested in THE GLUE BETWEEN THINGS. "Back on planet URTH" i search for and study desert wombats and inukThingies (they're like inukshuks) while rambling in the high desert of western Colorawdough.

Sam Seabornen

Photography, Movies, Books

bizchair.wordpress.com/

Stop Yearning, Start Earning